Player of the Year 2018

On 14th April the Kilmarnock Football Club Supporters' Association held our Player of the Year Awards at the Park Hotel after Steve Clarke’s blue and white army had invaded Hamilton and returned home with the now regulation victory.

Sponsored by Precision Tooling over 250 Killie fans packed the Caprington Suite to laud not only the winners of the awards, but the whole team and management who have given Killie our pride back this season.

This year we decided to launch a new award the ‘Unsung Hero’ award calling it after a well-known fan who sadly passed away this last year, but was undoubtedly an unsung hero, the one and only Sandy Ferguson. We are grateful to Sandy’s wife for letting us acknowledge his contribution to the football club and the fans organisations in this way.

The first recipient of the Unsung Hero was David Moody better known to us all as ‘Yeti’, another killie die-hard who seldom gets the recognition for the work he does at the club. David Wren from the Standard presented this to Yeti on behalf of the Ferguson family.

The David Sneddon Young Player of the Year Award went once again to Greg Taylor. The legend that is Mr Sneddon was on hand and delighted to present the award to Greg at the second time of asking.

The Frank Beattie Player of the Year was Alan Power, voted by the fans throughout the year on the Kickback forums. Voting after each match gives a fairer reflection on what player has contributed most throughout the season and not just who is most popular in the previous few games prior to the presentation!

We would like to offer up special thanks to Craig Benson who works for the KilleFC fans organisations website and who religiously uploaded the players name and polls after each and every match. It was also great to have Mrs Beattie at the Awards night to present Alan Power with his well-deserved trophy. A mention also for Jordan Jones who ran him close, maybe next year Jordan!

Finally, last but in no way least, a huge thanks to all the Killie fans who bought tickets and turned up on the night to make it a really memorable evening. These are your awards and it means a great deal to the KFCSA and the players that you the fans keep voting and keep giving your support in the season to come and beyond.


Pictures by Iain Sherry, Kara Scoular, Frank Parker & Robert Gordon and used with permission. If you want yours added then send them to or contact one of the site administrators and point out where we can download them from.

Image Gallery

Share this page: